The following information has been taken directly from the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board. Destination Hwy 420 does not stand by the accuracy of these statements as laws and regulations change frequently. To verify the updated laws and regulations, visit the official WSLCB website at: http://liq.wa.gov/mj2015/marijuana-2015
Know the law:
Initiative 502 legalized marijuana use for adults however there are still a number of restrictions. It is important for you to be aware of the following laws:
- Age Limit – Only adults age 21 and older can purchase and possess marijuana.
- Purchase Limits – Adults age 21 and over can purchase up to one ounce of useable marijuana (the harvested flowers, or “bud”), 16 ounces of marijuana-infused edibles in solid form, 72 ounces in liquid form, and 7 grams of marijuana concentrates.
- Buying and Selling – Marijuana can only be sold and purchased at state-licensed retail stores. A valid photo ID is required, and no one under 21 is allowed on the retail premises. Many retail marijuana stores only accept cash.
- No Resale or Giveaways – It remains a felony for anyone who is not a licensed retailer to sell or provide marijuana to anyone else. Providing or selling marijuana to a minor under the age of 18 can result in up to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
- Public Use – It is illegal to consume marijuana in view of the public.
- Driving – It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana if you have more than 5 nanograms of active THC per milliliter of blood. Doing so may result in significant legal penalties.
- Travel – It is illegal to take marijuana outside of Washington. Doing so may result in significant legal penalties.
More about marijuana and driving:
Similar to the 0.08 blood-alcohol limit, it is illegal to drive with 5 ng/ml of THC or more in your blood if you are 21 or older. If you are under 21, it is illegal to drive with any amount of THC in your blood.
The blood test is performed at a police station or medical facility and requires a blood draw. Published research says it can take 3 hours for some people to drop below 5 ng/ml after using marijuana, but it can take longer depending on multiple variables such as gender and body size. Some people may still be impaired with less than 5 ng/ml of THC in their blood.
It is less risky to wait at least 5 hours before operating a vehicle. It is recommended that you wait even longer after consuming edible marijuana products as they can remain in your system much longer.
If you are not sure whether you are impaired, do not drive! Call a taxi or use a designated driver.
How is marijuana taxed?
Per RCW 69.50.535 and WAC 314-55-089, all retail licensees are required to remit to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) an excise tax of 37 percent on all taxable sales of marijuana, marijuana concentrates, useable marijuana, and marijuana-infused products.
The WSLCB enacted rules that establish procedures and criteria for:
- The equipment, management and inspection of production, processing, and retail outlets.
- Books and records maintained by licensed premises.
- Methods of producing, processing and packaging of marijuana/marijuana infused products, to include conditions of sanitation.
- Standards of ingredients, quality, and identity of marijuana/marijuana infused products produced, processed and sold by licensees.
- Security requirements for retail outlets and premises where marijuana is produced and processed.